Review: Jack Daniel’s Slow Roasted Garlic and Herb EZ Marinader

Those of you who are lucky enough to have eaten a meal I’ve cooked, know how much I love to grill and especially love to grill steak. Over the past few years I have made it my culinary priority to master steaks on the grill. I enjoy using a wide variety of seasoning methods on meat from dry rubs to sauces, but marinating is by far my favorite. A good marinade can not only add flavor, but if you give it time, can also tenderize tougher cuts of steak. To allow for maximum flavor, you should marinade for at least 8 hours, if not overnight. Of course do not go beyond this as most marinades can be acidic enough to really break down the meat and cause you to serve a mushy pile of garbage. My problem is that I often plan dinner late enough in the day that marinating is out of the question. This is actually the reason I originally started experimenting with different dry rub recipes (I’ll eventually post my favorite ones on here).

During my past love affair with teriyaki seasoning, I picked up a bag of the Jack Daniel’s Honey Teriyaki. I had great results and while at the store looking for an idea about what to do for dinner recently, I decided to try the Slow Roasted Garlic and Herb EZ Marinader.

They are known as EZ Marinaders because they contain all the marinade in a resealable bag that has enough seasoning to cover up to 3 pounds of meat. We didn’t have much time to defrost the steak we had previously purchased before dinner, so the plan was to marinate for the minimum 30 minutes that the package advertised. As soon as the tips were adequately defrosted, I opened up the bag and dropped them in. These were pre-cut beef chuck tips that we had found on sale. Not the best cut of beef, but cheap enough that they warranted a try. After 30 minutes in the bag, I tossed them on the grill. Depending on how I season steaks, I either cook them on a very high temperature or what’s conversely known as “low and slow”. With marinades, I usually prefer a lower temperature to preserve the moistness that the wet seasoning provides. The steaks themselves were pretty tough and in the future will only be used by us in the slow cooker or in some sort of stew perhaps. As for the marinade, we’ll definitely be storing a bag or two in the cabinet at all times. The flavor is not tangy at all, but more of a savory marriage of the garlic and herbs that will please even the pickiest eaters. It’s got a great garlic taste, but doesn’t overwhelm the steak.

The Jack Daniel’s marinades are all thicker sauces than most and therefore require less time to be absorbed. For this reason, I recommend avoiding grill pans when using these sauces, as they just burn the seasoning right off the meat (trust me). The EZ Marinaders come in other flavors, but the Slow Roasted Garlic and Herb should now at least be on your shelf for a quick weeknight dinner.

Rating: 4/5

Published in: on September 19, 2010 at 11:48 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://garlicious.wordpress.com/2010/09/19/review-jack-daniels-slow-roasted-garlic-and-herb-ez-marinader/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

